Ulu Cami was built in 1399 by Ottoman Sultan Yıldırım Beyazıt to commemorate his victory over crusaders at the Battle of Nicopolis in 1396. The mosque has 20 domes supported by 12 columns and two minarets. Click here for a virtual tour.
The interior of the mosque is absolutely stunning. The wide open spaces and high ceilings give it a peaceful atmosphere.
There’s a şadırvan (ablutions fountain) in the center underneath a skylight. Although there are chandeliers today, the skylight provided light in the past. During the day it keeps the mosque dimly lit to add to the peaceful atmosphere.
Ulu Cami is one of the best examples of Islamic calligraphy in the entire world. All of the walls are covered in incredible Arabic script. In total, there are 192 inscriptions completed by the best calligraphers of the era.